National Simultaneous Storytime 2022 – Family Tree

National Simultaneous Storytime 2022 – Family Tree

We’re counting down the days until National Simultaneous Storytime! NSS takes place on Wednesday 25 May 2022 at 11:00am. Family Tree by Australian singer and songwriter Josh Pyke will be read simultaneously in libraries, schools, pre-schools, childcare centres, family homes, and many other places around the country. 


National Simultaneous Storytime (NSS) is held annually by the Australian Library and Information Association (ALIA). Now in its 22nd successful year, it is a colourful, vibrant, fun event that aims to promote the value of reading and literacy, using an Australian children’s book that explores age-appropriate themes, and addresses key learning areas of the National Curriculum for Foundation to Year 6.

NSS Events  

We’re planning some special events and displays in some of our library branches, and our librarians will also be visiting kindergartens and Early Years centres too! You can join us for a special reading of Family Tree at the following library branches – 

About the book – 

‘It started with a seed and that seed was me. And over time laughter filled my garden’ … A heartfelt celebration of family community and the seasons of life to cherish and to share. Family Tree is written by Josh Pyke and beautifully illustrated by Ronojoy Ghosh.

Can’t make it to StoryTime? 

You can still join in on the fun by registering to participate through the ALIA website

Previous NSS Books – 

  • 2021 – Give me some Space! by Philip Bunting
  • 2020 – Whitney and Britney Chicken Divas by Lucinda Gifford
  • 2019 – Alpacas with Maracas by Matt Cosgrove
  • 2018 – Hickory Dickory Dash by Tony Willson and illustrated by Laura Wood
  • 2017 – The Cow Tripped over the Moon by Tony Wilson and illustrated by Laura Wood
  • 2016 – I Got This Hat by Jol and Kate Temple and illustrated by Jon Foye
  • 2015 – The Brothers Quibble by Aaron Blabey
  • 2014 – Too Many Elephants in this House by Ursula Dubosarsky and illustrated by Andrew Joyner
  • 2013 – The Wrong Book by Nick Bland
  • 2012 – The Very Cranky Bear by Nick Bland
  • 2011 – Feathers for Phoebe by Rod Clement
  • 2010 – Little White Dogs Can’t Jump by Bruce Whatley and Rosie Smith and illustrated by Bruce Whatley
  • 2009 – Pete the Sheep by Jackie French and illustrated by Bruce Whatley
  • 2008 – Arthur written by Amanda Graham and illustrated by Donna Gynell
  • 2007 – The Magic Hat written by Mem Fox and illustrated by Tricia Tusa
  • 2006 – Good night, Me by Andrew Daddo and illustrated by Emma Quay
  • 2005 – Wombat Stew by Marcia K Vaughan and Pamela Lofts
  • 2004 – Muddled-up Farm written by Mike Dumbleton and illustrated by Jobi Murphy
  • 2003 – I don’t want to go to school written by Christine Harris and illustrated by Craig Smith  
  • 2002 – Mrs Wilkinson’s Chooks by Leone Peguero and Mike Spoor
  • 2001 – Edward the Emu written by Sheena Knowles and illustrated by Rod Clement

You can place these wonderful books on hold through our catalogue. 

Related Articles
BIG Summer Read 2021-22 Winners
BIG Summer Read 2021-22 Winners

Thank you to all of the participants in the BIG Summer Read competition. We are delighted to announce the winners –...

Read More
Return Yourself To The Library
Return Yourself To The Library

After extended lockdowns, it’s time to come back to the library and experience a wide range of services and program...

Read More


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sign up to our newsletter

+ be the first to hear about new books,
DVDs, eBooks and much more...